Now to him who by the power at work within us is able to accomplish abundantly far more than all we can ask or imagine, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever, Amen.

Ephesians 3:20-21

I don’t know about you, but right now I’m feeling overwhelmed. It feels like I have more to do than I can ever get done, and life is moving so fast I can’t keep up. As a teacher, I have so many things to do during the day that take up ALL my time and energy, especially this time of year. Then I go home to a family that demands more of me. I fall into bed exhausted, feeling guilty because I don’t think I’ve given my best to all the things that require my attention each day. I feel inadequate, and some days I even feel like a failure. I’m mired in hopeless quicksand and can’t find a way out.

help!

In this bible passage, Paul is offering glory to God for the work the people of Ephesus accomplish. But there’s an interesting twist. Paul is telling them that it is the Holy Spirit within them that accomplishes what needs to be done. Not only that, but because it is God doing the work through them, they can achieve more than they ever asked or imagined they could do. They could do it abundantly. That is a hope-filled message!

I wish I could do everything abundantly. Some days, I’m barely doing anything adequately, or at least it feels that way. So maybe this passage is saying it’s not me doing the work of God’s hands, anyway. Maybe I need to stop beating myself up about what I can’t get done, and focus on what I can do in the time I have, then put my trust in God to bring about those leftover things that need to get done in God’s time.

While we are doing what we can to accomplish our goals, God’s got our backs. And sometimes, when the need to rest is pressing on us, I think God WANTS us to take a break. God’s work doesn’t stop because we do. If I start thinking that I’m the only one doing anything, and if I don’t do it, it won’t get done, that’s my ego taking over. When that happens, I like to picture God laughing at me, saying “Get over your overblown self!”

We all know prioritizing things, then taking each task one step at a time, starting with the most important is the way to reach our goals. For me, saying a little prayer, and asking for a boost of the Spirit when I’m feeling anxious or tired helps me to finish that little step I’m struggling with. I need to remember that the work I do isn’t about me, it’s God’s work. I’m just his hands. When my hands can’t do anymore, God understands. I’m a beloved child of the Most High. God loves me no matter what! Stuff gets done, just maybe not the way I envisioned it. When I’m sinking in the quicksand, that thought gives me hope.

Prayer

Creator of all, help me to remember that it isn’t me that accomplishes the tasks you set before me but your Holy Spirit working through me. I know that I can achieve more than I imagine or ask for in your good time. Thank you for loving me and letting me rest in guiltless peace so that I may face the tasks of tomorrow with a joyful heart.