Therefore, since we are justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have obtained access to this grace in which we stand;…

Romans 5:1-2a (NRSV)

Have you ever done things that you were ashamed of? I have. Some of them were small things and some were not so small. I think most people, when they are honest, can admit that they have done things they regret, actions they wish they could take back. One of the consequences of those acts was me feeling out of sorts with myself and the world around me, or for the worst offenses, feeling completely bereft or alone. It’s like there’s a little break, an unraveling, in the thread connecting me to God when that happens.

And here’s a reality check. We are imperfect humans who have to deal with the consequences of our actions among other imperfect humans. That’s where the lack of peace comes into play. In a world where peace among people is a tenuous thing, we lament that the slender threads that hold us together are constantly in danger from poor communication, aggression, dishonesty, self-centeredness, and greed. With recent events in Europe, and in every country, workplace, and even our families, I wonder if God must look upon us all and shake his head, discouraged at our foolishness.

Reading these verses in Romans 5, I am reminded that we are pardoned. That’s what “justified by faith” means: pardoned, relieved of guilt, declared innocent. Because God sacrificed God’s only son for our transgressions, we have been pardoned and forgiven because we have faith. We don’t have to worry about our connection to God being broken by the stupid things we do. We don’t have to worry or fear that God will abandon us because we did something bad. Through the sacrifice of Jesus, we have God’s gift of forgiveness. God extends us grace, remembering his covenant with his beloved children.

Even as the world may be going crazy with strife, we can rest in the peace of God, assured that the thread connecting us together with our creator is unbreakable. Centering my thoughts and prayers on that helps me extend the grace I have received to others. Holy connections. Thanks be to God!

Prayer

Creator of every living thing, thank you for the grace you bestow on us all. I pray that your peace be extended to all those suffering because of our failings as a human race. In Jesus’s holy name I pray. Amen